My Hair Regimen and Staple Products

I try to keep my hair regimen simple and my stable products inexpensive. However, I do change up my regien at every season change so I have separate routines for the colder months and the warmer months. I also use ‘luxury’ products on special occasions. They are ‘luxury’ because they are more expensive and give great results. 

Spring/Summer Regimen

In the hotter months, I like to use the ‘LCO’ method with gels and curling custards because they provide UV protection from the sun. They also give my hair shine. The gel does not dry with a cast in the Summer because the high temperatures reduce its viscosity. My leave-ins are usually more water-based and a lighter consistency than in Winter because I do not want my hair to be weighed down. I also tend to use lighter oils. The key here is forming a barrier between your hair and the hot air. As my hair is highly porous already, I must protect it from heat of any form. 

Week 1 

Monday: Co-wash and apply leave-in, apply gel or custard. Pineapple once 80% dry.

Tuesday: Apply oil mix once my hair is fully dry and oil will seal the ends and add to the shine of my hair.

Wednesday: I do not need to moisturise hair as I will be co-washing on thursday.

Thursday: Co-wash and apply leave-in, apply gel or custard. Pineapple once 80% dry.

Friday: Apply oil mix once hair is fully dry and the oil will seal the ends and add to the shine of my hair.

Saturday: Co-wash and deep condition for 20 to 30 minutes and then rinse and apply a leave- in, gel and seal ends.

Sunday: I do not need to moisturise as I will be co-washing again on Monday.

Week 2

Monday: Co-wash and apply leave-in, apply gel or custard. Pineapple once 80% dry.

Tuesday: Apply oil mix once my hair is fully dry and oil will seal the ends and add to the shine of my hair.

Wednesday: I do not need to moisturise hair.

Thursday: Add moisturiser if hair is dry.

Friday: If hair is still dry, I might apply coconut oil as a pre- shampoo treatment overnight.

Saturday: Shampoo and deep condition for 30 minutes to an hour and then rinse. Apply a leave- in, gel and seal ends. Pineapple once 80% dry.

Sunday: I do not need to moisturise hair, for I  be co-washing the following week.

Week 3- my regimen is exactly the same as week 1. Week 4- my regimen is exactly the same as week 2. It should be noted that I do not always co-wash multiple times within the week. Sometimes I may co-wash on a Monday and do not need to re-do my hair until Saturday.

Biweekly:

I alternate with co-washing and shampooing. I tend to shampoo every other week (biweekly) and co-wash within the week or if I do not feel like shampooing. The reason why I wash my hair with conditioner more in the Summer is because my hair gets drier and crispier faster due to the heat. As I am also applying products throughout the week and then washing them out again, I do not get product build-up. Therefore, shampooing is not as necessary. Also, shampooing every week may cause my hair to be even drier in the hot weather.

Monthly:

Sometimes I will wait a month to shampoo if I feel like my hair has not got a lot of build-up.

Autumn/Winter Regimen

In the colder months, I like to use the ‘LOC’ method. Instead of using a gel or custard based styling product, I use a cream-based product to lock in the moisture and define my curls. My leave-ins are usually thicker and I tend to use thicker oils to provide a barrier between my hair and the harsh weather. However, my hair does like the cold air as it seals my cuticle shut. If I were to use gels in the winter, my hair will truly feel crispy but using thick creams allows my hair to have a softer cast and hold.

Week 1

Monday: Co-wash and apply leave-in, add an oil to the ends and then seal in the moisture with a defining cream. Pineapple once 80% dry.

Tuesday: Apply oil mix once my hair is fully dry for shine if looking dull.

Wednesday: I do not need to moisturise as I will be re-styling my hair on Thursday.

Thursday: Co-wash and apply leave-in, seal ends with an oil and then apply thick cream or butter. Pineapple once 80% dry. I then put my hair into about 12 plaits for a braid-out. I may add perm rods to my ends for a more curled look.

In the Winter I like to incorporate more low-manipulation styles that keep my hair stretched so this means I do fewer wash n gos. 

Friday: Apply oil mix once hair is fully dry and this will add shine and reduce frizz as I undo the plaits.

Saturday: Co-wash and deep condition for 20 to 30 minutes and then rinse and apply a leave- in, oil to seal ends and then defining cream.

Sunday: I do not need to moisturise as I will be co-washing again on Monday.

Week 2

Monday: Co-wash and apply leave-in, add an oil to the ends and then seal in the moisture with a defining cream. Pineapple once 80% dry.

Tuesday: Apply oil mix once my hair is fully dry and oil will add to the shine of my hair.

Wednesday: I do not need to moisturise as I will be re-styling my hair on Thursday.

Thursday: Apply my leave-in and oil (no gel/custard/defining cream this time) and put my hair into about 12 plaits for a braid-out. I may add perm rods to my ends for a more curled look.

Friday: Apply oil mix once hair is fully dry and this will add shine and reduce frizz as I undo the plaits.

Saturday: Shampoo and deep condition for 20 to 30 minutes and then rinse and apply a leave- in, gel and seal ends.

Sunday: I do not need to moisturise as I will be co-washing again on Monday.

Weeks 3 and 4 are duplicates of week 1 and 2.

Biweekly:

In the Winter, I shampoo every two weeks but I co-wash less. For some reason, my hair stays more moisturised in the Winter than it does in the Summer – I guess my hair likes cold air as I have medium to high porosity hair. Therefore, I do not feel the need to use conditioner often  but I tend to co-wash whenever I do not have the energy to shampoo. Because I am generally co-washing less but still apply product during the week, I do get product build-up. As a result, I need to shampoo. 

Monthly:

Again, I may leave my shampooing sessions until the end of the month if I do not have product-build-up. I get dandruff and oily scalp more in the colder month so I tend to do an oil rinse at the end of the month in the Winter.

Deep conditioning: I usually deep condition my hair when I feel it is dry, brittle or dull. Although, I have started to use a deep treatment mask weekly because I need my hair to stay moisturised in the colder months. However, in the Summertime, I do more hot oil treatments to keep my hair soft. The heat usually dries out my hair, making it feel somewhat crispy. 

Trimming: I trim my hair any time I feel like my hair is splitting, breaking or knotting excessively. When I first started learning about my hair, I would trim every 2 months, but now my hair is longer and healthier, I trim about three or four times a year. Basically, every 3-4 months.

Products

I tend to find that I need heavier products in the Winter and lighter products in the Summer. Also, I use more products in the Winter and less in the Summer. The heat melts the oils in my hair and causes them to be more viscous than usual. For example, Coconut oil and Castor oil would be best in the Winter as they congeal and lock in the moisture. In heat, they melt and therefore, cause my hair to be more oily in the Summer. Lighter oils like Grapeseed oil, Jojoba oil, Rosemary oul and Sweet Almond oil benefit my hair more in the Summer.

Staple Products

Shampoos: Crème of Nature Argan Oil from Morocco Sulphate-free Moisture and Shine Shampoo/ Shea Moisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Sulphate-free Shampoo.

Rinse-out (regular) conditioners: Tresemme  Moisturise Rich Luxurious Moisture Conditioner/Tresemme Colour Revitalise Colour Protection Conditioner/ Shea Moisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen, Grow and Restore Conditioner .

Deep conditioners: Shea Moisture Superfruit Complex 10-in-1 Renewal System Hair Masque/ Shea Moisture Manuka Strengthening, Anti-breakage Hair Masque/Aphogee Keratin 2 Minute Reconstructor.

Leave-in conditioners: Crème of Nature Lemongrass & Rosemary Leave-in Conditioner/Cantu Argan Oil Leave-in Conditioning Repair Cream/ Shea Moisture Coconut and Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie (with Neem oil and Silk protein).

Gel/Curling Custards: Argan Oil Eco – Styler Gel/ Olive Oil Eco-Syler Gel/ Coconut Eco-Style gel/ Cantu Shea Butter Define & Shine Custard/ Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curling Gel Souffle/ Shea Moisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen, Grow and Restore Edge Treatment.

Styling Creams: Shea Moisture Coconut & Hibiscus Curl Enhancing Smoothie /Cantu Shea Butter Conditioning Creamy Hair Lotion/ Cantu Moisturising Curl Activator Cream/ Cantu Coconut Shea Butter Curling Cream.

Oils (I use to form an oil mix): Coconut oil, Olive oil, Castor oil, Sweet Almond oil and Jojoba oil.

Luxury Products

Shampoos: Lush Curly Wurly Coconut Shampoo.

Rinse-out (regular) conditioners: Tresemme Cleanse and Replenish Luxurious Moisture/ Head & Shoulders anti – dandruff conditioner/ Head & Shoulders for itchy scalp conditioner.

Deep conditioners: Shea Moisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen, Grow and Restore Treatment Masque/ Shea Moisture Manuka Honey & Mafura Oil Intensive Hydration Hair Masque.

Leave-in conditioners: Mixed Chicks leave-in/ Kinky Curly Knot Today/ Devacurl One Condition/ Shea Moisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen, Grow and Restore leave-in.

Gel/ Curling Custards: Kinky Curly Curling Custard/ Camille Rose Naturals Curl-Maker/ Miss Jessie’s Jelly Soft Curls/ Devacurl Ultra Defining Gel/ Curls Blueberry Bluss Cobtrol Paste

Styling Creams: Camille Rose Naturals Curlaide Moisture Butter/ Agadir Argan Oil Volumising Hair Mousse/ Miss Jessie’s Pillow Soft Curls. 

Oils (I use to form an oil mix): Macadamia oil, Tea Tree oil, Rosemary oil, Argan oil and Avacado oil.

Leave a Reply

